Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

June 26, 2014

Maize 'N View: U-M hoops can make history tonight

On April 8, 2013, five Wolverines took to the floor at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta hoping to knock off Louisville and capture a national championship. They came up just short, but two years later the quintet has another chance to make program history.

The starters that night were Trey Burke, Tim Hardaway Jr., Nik Stauskas, Mitch McGary and Glenn Robinson III. Burke and Hardaway were first-round picks a year ago, and if Stauskas, McGary and Robinson all go in the first round, it will mark the first time in U-M history that all five starters from an NCAA finals went in the NBA Draft first round.

The Fab Five can't claim that - Jimmy King went in Round 2 and Ray Jackson went undrafted - and neither can the 1989 national champion Wolverines, though they came close, with four of that day's starters (Glen Rice, Rumeal Robinson, Loy Vaught and Terry Mills) going in the first round. Fifth starter, Mike Griffin, was not drafted..

"That's really cool to go from five starters in the national championship game to five guys in the first round - that would be awesome," said Robinson, who is the key to making it happen as he's hovering in the late first-round/early second-round territory.

"That just goes to show that Michigan has really developed its program. That's exciting and that's good for Michigan's brand."

If it happens, Michigan would also eclipse Kentucky, Kansas, Duke, North Carolina, Michigan State and others that appeared in a championship game over a 10-year span from 2004-13. Not one of the 20 participants has seen its five championship-game starters all go in the first round.

Kentucky's 2012 title-winning team came closest, with four of five starters (see chart) going in Round 1 and its fifth starter going in Round 2. That could be Michigan's fate as the draft unwinds this evening (7:00 pm, ESPN).

Florida's 2006 and 2007 championship teams put three starters into the first round, as North Carolina's 2005 team, Connecticut's 2004 team and North Carolina's 2009 team also accomplished.

But no one in the last 10 years (maybe ever, box scores preceding 2004 are more difficult to track down) has done what Michigan will attempt to achieve tonight.

What is incredible, but probably not surprising, is the consistency at which title-game starters have gone in the NBA first round. Of the 94 players (six of the 100 were still on college rosters in 2013-14), 37 went in Round 1 (39.4 percent) and another 18 in Round 2 (19.1 percent).

If not for Butler seeing just one of 10 starters from its 2010 and 2011 teams (Gordon Heyward) being selected in the draft, those numbers would probably be much higher.

U-M coach John Beilein is not surprised by the rate.

"Anyone that has ever played in the Final Four and had any success is well equipped to take on any challenge at any level afterward," Beilein told MGoBlue.com. "These guys played in front of 70,000 people in a high-level game. It doesn't get much bigger."

It's possible either McGary or Robinson, or both, slip to the second round tonight, and if that happens, it is nothing to be ashamed about.

Michigan's 2013 Final Four team might not set a program record but it would be only the second championship-participant team in U-M history (1989 the other) to see all five of its starters go in Rounds 1 or 2, and only the second team in the last 10 years (Kentucky, 2012) to do so.

Championship Team
First Round Pick(s)
Second Round Pick(s)
Gorgui Dieng
Peyton Siva
Chane Behanan
Trey Burke
Tim Hardaway Jr.

Terrence Jones
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist
Anthony Davis
Marquis Teague
Doron Lamb

Thomas Robinson
Jeff Withey
Tyshawn Taylor
Elijah Johnson
Travis Releford
Kemba Walker
Jeremy Lamb

Roscoe Smith
Alex Oriakhi

Matt Howard
Andrew Smith
Shelvin Mack
Shawn Vanzant
Chase Stigall
Nolan Smith
Kyle Singler
Lance Thomas
Brian Zoubek
Jon Scheyer
Gordon Heyward

Matt Howard
Ronald Nored
Willie Veasley
Shelvin Mack
North Carolina
Tyler Hansbrough
Ty Lawson
Wayne Ellington
Danny Green
Deon Thompson
Michigan State

Goran Suton
Raymar Morgan
Delvon Roe
Kalis Lucas
Travis Walton
Darrell Arthur
Brandon Rush
Darnell Jackson
Mario Chalmers
Russell Robinson
Derrick Rose
Robert Dozier
Joey Dorsey
Chris Douglas-Roberts
Antonio Anderson
Corey Brewer
Joakim Noah
Al Horford
Taureen Green
Lee Humprhey
Ohio State
Greg Oden
Michael Conley Jr.

Ivan Harris
Ron Lewis
Jamar Butler
Corey Brewer
Joakim Noah
Al Horford
Taureen Green
Lee Humphrey
Jordan Farmar
Aaron Afflalo
Luc Richard Mbah a Moute
Ryan Hollins
Cedric Bozeman
North Carolina
Rashad McCants
Raymond Felton
Sean May

Jawad Williams
Jackie Manuel
Deron Williams
Luther Head
James Augustine
Dee Brown
Roger Powell
Emeka Okafor
Ben Gordon
Josh Boone

Rashad Anderson
Taliek Brown
Georgia Tech
Jarrett Jack

BJ Elder
Luke Schenscher
Marvin Lewis
Anthony McHenry
*Players were on the team in 2013-14

  • If you're not a subscriber and would like to read all of our great content plus interact on our premium message board with our staff and thousands of other U-M fans, sign up SIGN UP HERE.

  • Subscribe to our podcast on iTunes

  • Bring TheWolverine.com to your mobile platform. Download the app for either the iPhone or Android platforms.

  • Learn more about our monthly publication, The Wolverine Magazine, here.

  • Follow us on Twitter: @TheWolverineMag, @JB_Wolverine, @Balas_Wolverine, @Spath_Wolverine, and @TimS_Wolverine.

  • Like us on Facebook.

  • And share this story:

  • Michigan NEWS


    Latest Headlines:

    Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
    Site-specific editorial/photos TheWolverine.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
    About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

    Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.