Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

March 11, 2008

Hansbrough named ACC player of the year

Tyler Hansbrough has been named the 2008 Atlantic Coast Conference men's basketball player of the year, becoming only the third player in ACC history to win player of the year voting in unanimous fashion.

Hansbrough received all 90 votes from the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association, joining David Thompson of NC State (1975) and Josh Howard of Wake Forest (2003) as the only unanimous selections in the 55-year history of the ACC.

"Tyler has been fantastic all year on both ends of the floor, yet he really elevated his game over the second half of the ACC schedule," Carolina coach Roy Williams said. "A number of our players stepped forward in Ty Lawson's absence, but Tyler had the ability to dominate key stretches of games and that gave our players a level of confidence that pushed us toward the regular-season ACC title. It is gratifying to see the awards and rewards go to a young man who doesn't rest on his previous accomplishments and works so hard to improve each and every day. I am lucky to be his coach."

Hansbrough is the 11th different Tar Heel to win ACC player of the year, and the first since Joseph Forte shared the award with Duke's Shane Battier in 2001. Hansbrough joins a list of UNC recipients that includes Lennie Rosenbluth (1957), Pete Brennan (1958), Lee Shaffer (1960), Billy Cunningham (1965), Larry Miller (1967 and 1968), Mitch Kupchak (1976), Phil Ford (1978), Michael Jordan (1984), Antawn Jamison (1998) and Forte (2001).

Michigan NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos TheWolverine.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.