Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

August 22, 2009

Moore named to watchlists for Maxwell and Manning Awards

BOISE, Idaho - Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore has received two more preseason honors this week, being named to the 2009 Allstate Sugar Bowl Manning Award and Maxwell Award watch lists.

Moore is one of 33 collegiate quarterbacks earning preseason recognition for the Manning Award, which is named in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. The award recognizes the nation's most outstanding quarterback each season. The winner is selected following the completion of January's bowl games, which makes it the only current quarterback award that takes bowl performances into consideration.

The Maxwell Award has been honoring the most outstanding player in college football since 1935. In its' 73rd year, the Maxwell Award is voted on by Directors, Head Coaches and select national media. The current watch list of 55 will be narrowed to three by Nov. 23. Both the Maxwell Award and Manning Award were won by University of Florida quarterback Tim Tebow last season.

Moore (6-0, 184), a sophomore from Prosser, Wash. (Prosser HS), earned the recognition on both preseason watch lists for his outstanding play in 2008. As a freshman, Moore completed 281-of-405 passes for 3,486 yards, 25 touchdowns and just 10 interceptions.

Michigan NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos TheWolverine.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.