Beilein national coach of year finalist

Michigan head coach John Beilein is one of five finalists for the Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year Award. Beilein joins Virginia's Tony Bennett, SMU's Larry Brown, Florida's Billy Donovan and Wichita Sate's Gregg Marshall in vying for the honor.
Beilein took a team that lost consensus national Player of the Year Trey Burke and Tim Hardaway, Jr., early to the NBA and fashioned a Big Ten championship team. That crew played the entire conference season without pre-season All-American Mitch McGary, a key cog in U-M's run to the 2013 national title contest.
The Wolverines won the Big Ten by three games, claiming their first outright Big Ten title since 1986. They earned their first No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament, and a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament. U-M has made the NCAA Tournament four straight years under Beilein, and five of the past six.
Beilein coached the ninth-youngest team in the nation with just two upperclassmen, and was named the Big Ten's Coach of the Year by the media and the USBWA District V Coach of the Year. He helped guide Nik Stauskas to the program's second straight Big Ten Player of the Year honor, as well as unanimous All-Big Ten first team honors.
Meanwhile, Caris LeVert (second team) and Glenn Robinson III (honorable mention) also earned All-Big Ten honors, while Derrick Walton Jr. was named to the all-freshman team.
The Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year will be announced during the Final Four in Dallas at the Naismith Awards Welcome Brunch, April 6, at the City Club Dallas.