Burke adds Naismith to his collection

Another night, another award for Michigan sophomore point guard Trey Burke.
The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Sunday evening that Burke is the winner of the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, giving him a clean sweep of the national player of the year awards. Burke was named winner of the AP, Wooden and Robertson awards earlier this weekend.
Burke beat out Doug McDermott (Creighton), Victor Oladipo (Indiana) and Otto Porter Jr. (Georgetown) for the award. His ultimate trophy, though, could come Monday night when U-M meets Louisville in the National Championship game.
"Trey is a selfless player who works hard to make his teammates better every day," Michigan head coach John Beilein said. "He has provided tremendous leadership all season long and has played at an extremely high level every game.
"Trey is a joy to coach and we are fortunate to have him as a floor leader. Trey is a great ambassador for the University of Michigan and will represent the Naismith Trophy with great pride."
Burke is averaging 18.5 points and 6.8 assists per contest, shooting 45.9 percent from the floor this year. He's scored in double figures in all but two games this year, both of them coming in the NCAA Tournament (South Dakota State and Syracuse).