Stauskas, Beilein win Big Ten awards


The coaches and media split on the voting for Big Ten Coach Of The Year. The media selected Beilein, who led his team to an outright Big Ten title for this first time since 1986, despite the loss of Trey Burke and Tim Hardaway, Jr. to the NBA and Mitch McGary to injury.

The coaches of the league voted for Nebraska's Tim Miles, whose team was picked to finish dead last in the league this year. The Cornhuskers instead earned a first-round bye in the Big Ten Tournament, finishing the league in fourth place in the Big Ten standings.

On the BTN show where the awards were announced, Beilein lauded Miles for the work the Cornhuskers did this year, and was honored to be selected as Big Ten Coach Of The Year by the media.

Ultimately, though, it "doesn't matter," he said.

"Everyone makes so much of different award. We want to be on the staff that's the team of the year," Beilein said.

This marks the just third time in the Big Ten Coach Of The Year award history that the coaches and media have split the award between two coaches. In 2009, Penn State's Ed DeChellis won the award from the media, and Michigan State's Tom Izzo won the award from the coaches. In 2010, the media voted for Ohio State's Thad Matta, while the coaches selected Purdue's Matt Painter.

Stauskas was the lone unanimous selection for the first-team All-Big Ten squad, meaning that every Big Ten coach and every voting media member listed him as a first-team selection.

He is joined by Iowa's Roy Devyn Marble, Nebraska's Terran Petteway (the league's leading scorer), Michigan State's Gary Harris and Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky.

For the season, Stauskas is shooting 48.9 percent from the field (151-of-309) and an impressive 45.8 percent from three-point range (71-of-155), averaging 17.4 points per game.

But Stauskas wasn't just a scorer. He led the team in assists, racking up 99 in the regular season, and averaged 3.3 rebounds per game.

Stauskas did not even make the Big Ten's All-Freshman Team after a promising rookie season last year.

Harris was the lone member of the 2013-14 Preseason All-Big Ten Team that was also featured on the first-team all-conference list. The preseason team included sophomores Mitch McGary, whose season ended early because of a back injury, and Glenn Robinson III; Michigan State's Adreian Payne, Ohio State's Aaron Craft; and Penn State's Tim Frazier.

Sophomore guard Caris LeVert, who had a breakout season in 2014, was voted by the coaches and media to the All-Big Ten second team.

LeVert shot 44.0 percent from the field and 41.0 percent from three-point range, averaging 13.4 points per game and adding 82 total assists.

Freshman point guard Derrick Walton, Jr. was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team. The Wolverines have had a player on the All-Freshman team in each of the last four seasons: Tim Hardaway, Jr, (2011), Trey Burke (2012), Glenn Robinson III (2013) and Walton (2014).

Sophomore forward Glenn Robinson III earned All-Big Ten honorable mention selection.